IT security company Sophos has warned GMAIL users that a phishing attack is underway via the Google Chat system. Users have been receiving chat messages with a “check this video” message and a tinyurl link. Once clicked, the link redirects them to ViddyHo, a site where they are asked for their Google credentials. Hackers can then re-use this information to snoop in people’s accounts and possibly use the information to steal one’s identity.
Be careful in general, and it seems like a good idea not to use one site’s credential (Google’s) on another site, that just sounds like “give me your login and password”. More stories about this on the web.
Next Story: The Dell XPS 435 Is a High-End Desktop PC