Flickr recovers deleted photographsA Flickr user lost 4,000 photographs earlier this week due to a fiasco causing his account to be deleted. Obviously unhappy about it, he managed to get the case out in the open and the news story garnered a lot of attention. Needless to say, this caused a lot of bad press for Flickr, and today it looks like they’ve corrected the situation. The user was reinstated his account, and all his 4,000 photographs were restored. He was also rewarded with 25 years of Flickr Pro membership. Here’s the official statement from Flickr:

Yahoo! is pleased to share that the Flickr team has fully restored a member’s account that was mistakenly deleted yesterday. We regret the human error that led to the mistake and have worked hard to rectify the situation, including reloading the entire photo portfolio and providing the member with 25 years of free Flickr Pro membership. Flickr takes the trust of our members very seriously and we appreciate the patience shown by this member and our community. Flickr will also soon roll out functionality that will allow us to restore deleted accounts more easily in the future.

Let’s hope such an event doesn’t happen again. How many of you are still using Flickr or have you changed services in light of this week’s incidents?

This article was filed in Homepage > Photo-Video > Web and was tagged with apology, flickr and photographs.
Like us, and get the best stories

User Comments