Facebook, the world’s most popular social network, has finally resolved a long standing issue which enabled photos from users to be stashed away on their servers – sometimes residing there for months on end even after they were deleted from one’s user profile already, with some citing that years would be involved in this case. This has been the case for a fair number of years, where despite the fact that the deleted photos could not be viewed on your profile, it would still be accessible through direct URLs to the image. Nice to know that this particular snafu has finally been resolved.
Facebook did mention to Ars Technica that their most recent photo-storage systems were already in place, enabling such images to no longer take residence in the online realm. To put it in a nutshell, all deleted images from your Facebook account will not be left on the servers for more than 30 days. Facebook spokesperson Frederic Wolens said, “As a result of work on our policies and infrastructure, we have instituted a ‘max-age’ of 30 days for our CDN links. However, in some cases the content will expire on the CDN much more quickly, based on a number of factors.”
There were tests done on the new system that pointed towards a far faster deletion rate of approximately two days thereabouts. Are you pleased with this bit of news?Related articles: