Twitter Reverts Changes To Its Blocking Policy After User Feedback

Amid all of the updates Twitter has been rolling out to its service, such as its iOS app being able to send photos through direct messages, Twitter made a controversial decision yesterday to allow blocked users to continue to be able to interact with users that initiated the block.

Blocked users would be able to continue to see the user’s tweets as well as be able to interact with accounts that had blocked them, as long as they were public. It turns out that was a very unpopular move by the company, who received feedback from many of its users asking them to revert this change. It looks like that’s exactly what will happen as Twitter is announcing they’ll be taking back its decision to makes these changes.

“We have decided to revert the change after receiving feedback from many users – we never want to introduce features at the cost of users feeling less safe,” Michael Sippey, Twitter’s vice-president of product, said in a blog post. “Any blocks you had previously instituted are still in effect.”

I’m not sure exactly what Twitter was thinking of by attempting to take away the whole purpose to block a person. Being unable to receive forms of communications as well as not allowing them to see your postings is the entire reason why the blocking system exists.

This article was filed in Homepage > Web and was tagged with Twitter. The story was spotted on blog.twitter
Like us, and get the best stories

User Comments