Google has slowly been integrating Google+ in its most widely used services. The social network is baked into search, as search plus your world and into YouTube as its default comments system. Gmail is the latest service to receive the Google+ treatment, users can now email anyone on the company’s social network even if they don’t know their email address. Typing a person’s name will automatically display relevant matches from your address book first, and underneath them will be Google+ connections, tap on the relevant connection in order to send an email. Simple as that.
Now you might be thinking that this is a bit intrusive, well it can be, if you don’t opt out. Google is letting users choose who can send them emails through their Google+ profiles. Options range from anyone on Google+ to no one, with option to select either extended circles or just your own circles also present. If you choose the anyone on Google+ option, then its quite likely you may receive a slew of unwanted email. In order to make this feature more private, your email address will not be shown to the sender until you reply to the email, they’ll just see the Google+ username. This new feature also takes advantage of the new inbox categories in Gmail. Emails from people in your circle will be displayed in the Primary category while emails from those outside your circles will show up in the Social category, if enabled, and they will only be able to start another conversation with you until and unless you either reply to them or add them to your circles.