logo_facebook-rgb-7inch2.png.648x0_q90_replace_alphaWe’re sure many of you guys have received emails or messages in the past informing you that if you don’t share the message with X number of people, the service you’re using will shut down.  In fact back in 2012, a similar hoax made its rounds on Facebook followed by a second round in early 2015.

Now it looks like the hoax is back and just like before, it appears to be preying on how paranoid some people with regards to their privacy. Basically the hoax is asking users to post a message saying that that they do not give Facebook permission to use their information. It sounds legit which is why many could have bought into it, but it is really just a hoax.

In fact this is not the only hoax currently making its rounds. There is another hoax that claims that if you were to pay “Facebook” $5.99, they will ensure that your Facebook page remains private. This seems to be targeted at users with extremely private profiles as the message claims that if the message is not pasted and posted, their profiles will go public the day after.

Facebook has since debunked the hoax with their own message saying, “While there may be water on Mars, don’t believe everything you read on the internet today. Facebook is free and it always will be. And the thing about copying and pasting a legal notice is just a hoax. Stay safe out there Earthlings!”

Filed in Web. Read more about Facebook, privacy and Social Hit.

User Comments