If you use Google Photos to store and backup your photos, but you would also love to be able to share those photos with friends and family members, Google has recently issued an update to Google Photos in which they are introducing a new feature in the form of Shared Albums. As the name implies, this is feature where you can create albums that you can share with others.
According to Google, “People receiving the shared album can join to add their own photos and videos, and also get notifications when new pics are added. You can even save photos and videos from a shared album to your Google Photos library, so that you can hold onto them even if you weren’t the one holding the camera.”
The feature is also supposedly pretty straightforward to use. All users have to do is select the photos that they want, create a shared album, and send the link to people that they want to share the album with. This works across multiple devices like smartphones, tablets, or your computer.
The update should be live so if you haven’t updated your Google Photos app yet, head on over to the iTunes App Store or Google Play for the download. In the meantime you can check out the short clip above to see the new feature of Google Photos in action.