uber-new-appLast month Uber announced that to improve drop-off and pick-up point accuracy in its services, they would begin background collection of user data in which for 5 minutes after being dropped off, users would have their information collected. Some users were naturally concerned about this feature, and their worst fears seem to have been confirmed.

According to user reports, it seems that despite promising data collection for only 5 minutes, users are seeing the Uber app continue to track their location even when the app isn’t being used. However the good news is that this isn’t Uber’s fault as the company has pointed their finger at Apple’s iOS Maps extension.

Speaking to TechCrunch, an Uber spokesperson said, “For people who choose to integrate ride sharing apps with iOS Maps, location data must be shared in order for you to request a ride inside the Maps app. Map extensions are disabled by default and you can choose to turn them on in your iOS settings.”

So basically this isn’t a bug within the Uber app, and neither is it a bug of iOS, apparently it is considered a “feature”. However given that iOS doesn’t indicate if it’s the app or extension that’s using your data, we guess some users were concerned, but hopefully this clears things up.

Filed in Apple >Cellphones. Read more about Apps, iOS and Uber.

User Comments