Blizzard has spent nearly a year developing an e-sports league for its Overwatch game and it has finally confirmed when the Overwatch league is going to be launched. The debut season is going to kick off in January next year. The season will last until June so there’s going to be plenty of action for Overwatch fans to follow up on.

The Overwatch league was first announced by Blizzard in November last year. It aims to emulate traditional pro sports leagues by launching city-based teams. Players will be offered contracts with guaranteed salaries, health insurance, and even retirement plans.

Blizzard confirmed today the final three teams that will be hopping onboard. The three teams include one in Dallas, Houston, and Philadelphia each. The Philadelphia team is owned by the same group that’s behind the NHL’s Philadelphia Flyers.

The Dallas and Houston teams are operated by well-known e-sports groups Team Envy and OpTic Gaming, respectively. The total number of teams in this league is now up to 12.

Blizzard today confirmed that the Overwatch league’s debut season is going to kick off on January 10th, 2018. The season is going to last until June.

Playoffs are scheduled for July. There will be a series of pre-season exhibition matches that will start on December 6th to give teams an early start.

Filed in Gaming. Read more about Blizzard and Overwatch. Source: theverge

Related Articles
User Comments