Facebook’s data practices have come under intense scrutiny recently following the data misuse scandal that broke a few weeks ago. The timing wasn’t ideal for the company when it was discovered that the social network was storing videos that users had filmed but hadn’t published back when it allowed users to film videos directly on Facebook to post to a friend’s wall. Facebook was storing the videos even if the user decided not to post them after recording. It has now apologized for this and promised to delete those videos.

“We investigated a report that some people were seeing their old draft videos when they accessed their information from our Download Your Information tool,” Facebook confirmed in a statement provided to New York Magazine, explaining that “We discovered a bug that prevented draft videos from being deleted. We are deleting them and apologize for the inconvenience.”

This “bug” initially came to light when many users who downloaded their entire data archive from Facebook were shocked to find videos that they didn’t remember posting. It’s only that did it become apparent that the social network was even storing videos that they hadn’t posted.

Facebook hasn’t really explained just how widespread this issue is and if there’s going to be a way for users to check whether or not their unpublished videos have actually been deleted from its servers.

Filed in Web. Read more about Facebook.

Related Articles
User Comments