Many customers use eBay to find new and used products. The site enjoyed the same incentive that many others did in the past whereby it didn’t have to collect sales tax on purchases. However, that has slowly been changing, as those legal loopholes continue to be closed. To that end, eBay will now collect sales tax in 13 additional states across the country.


Many online retailers already do that same thing. Amazon, for example, collects sales tax everywhere while Newegg collects it in 43 states.

eBay has already been collecting sales tax in about a dozen states and that list has now been expanded with 13 additional states. They include Alabama, Arkansas, Indiana, Kentucky, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

The list doesn’t end here, though, as the site has also revealed that this list will be further expanded later this year. Starting October 1st, eBay will begin collection sales tax in North Dakota, California, South Carolina, Texas, and Utah.

Customers may also see a tax charge even if the site doesn’t charge tax in their state currently if the seller is opting to charge the tax. As always, items being delivered to an address outside the United States will be subject to local consumer tax and/or customs duty.

Filed in General.. Source: ebay