Back in May, it was reported that Instagram was testing a new feature in the form of archiving. Basically what it does is that it allows users to archive posts without actually deleting them, so maybe if you wanted to take something down temporarily and put it back later without having to rewrite and re-tag everything, this is where archiving comes in handy.

However back then the feature was undergoing testing, but that is no longer the case as Instagram appears to be rolling out the feature to the masses. “Today we’re introducing Archive, a new feature that lets you move posts you’ve previously shared into a space that’s visible only to you. Your profile is a representation of who you are and evolves with you over time. With Archive, you now have more flexibility to shape your profile while still preserving moments that matter.”

If you were to launch Instagram on your mobile device, you should be able to find the option to archive photos. Your archived posts can also be found on your profile page at the top right corner with the clock-looking icon.

If you don’t see it yet, then there’s a chance that the feature might not have rolled out to you yet, but not to worry as it should eventually find its way to you. In terms of archiving, it has been noted that when you do archive or unarchive a photo, your followers will not be notified, so you can go ahead and edit your Instagram profile and posts without everyone knowing about it.

Filed in Photo-Video. Read more about Apps and Instagram.

User Comments