googlephotos

Google Photos is one of the many services out there that immediately upload photos you take with your smartphone to the cloud, this helps you save up space on the phone, particularly if it’s a device like the iPhone that doesn’t allow external expansion. Google Photos has received a new feature today which enables it to automatically delete photos off the device once they’ve been backed up to the cloud, instantly clearing up space for more content on the device.

Users will now find a “Free Up Space” button on the Settings screen, tapping on this will prompt them to bulk-delete all photos off the device that have already been backed up to the cloud.

To make sure that users don’t accidentally bulk delete copies from their handset they will be asked to double-confirm their intent before this feature springs into action.

Those who backup their photos in High quality may also get an Assistant card telling them to bulk delete device copies when they’re approaching the storage limit on their device. Currently this card is only shown to users backing up photos in Original quality.

Google is now allowing users to downgrade previously uploaded photos from Original to High quality. Pictures uploaded in Original quality, full resolution and large file, count against their Google Drive storage while compressed High quality photos in smaller file size don’t. Users can now downgrade previously uploaded photos if they want to free up some space on their Google Drive quota.

Filed in Cellphones. Read more about Apps, Google and google photos.

User Comments