Last month, we saw Google+ users reacting to Google’s new ad policy that would allow the company to use a person’s photo and Google Account name in ads, that is, unless they opt out. The ad policy would be a part of a new Terms of Service which would go into effect on November 11, and as you probably could have guess, today is the day Google can sell its users for advertising.
We’re sure many of you would prefer to not be a part of Google’s grand scheme to make even more money off of its users, so the company allows you to opt out of their new ad policy. All you need to do is head on over to this link and uncheck the “Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads” selection.
When you uncheck that box, you’ll be presented with a message saying your friends won’t be able to benefit from your recommendations. So if you think having Google sell your name, photo and information is worth it as long as your friends know you had a great time at Red Robin, then by all means, keep that box checked.