flickr delete
For a brand that is proclaims itself to be “The best online photo management and sharing application in the world.”, it certainly has some gall to delete more than 4,000 pictures from one of its most prolific users. Owned by Yahoo!, it sent photo blogger Mirco Wilhelm an apology (if you could call it that), and it irritated the Zurich-based IT architect even further as he ranted on a blog with the title “You have to f**king kidding, Yahoo!” How did this issue come about? Mirco realized that another blogger was using his photos and decided that Flickr could help him out by reporting the problem to them. Flickr instead “accidentally deleted” Mirco’s account without any warning, and when he contacted Flickr after that, this was the response he received.
Hello,
Unfortunately, I have mixed up the accounts and accidentally deleted yours. I am terribly sorry for this grave error and hope that this mistake can be reconciled. Here is what I can do from here: I can restore your account, although we will not be able to retrieve your photos. I know that there is a lot of history on your account—again, please accept my apology for my negligence. Once I restore your account, I will add four years of free Pro to make up for my error.
Please let me know if there’s anything else I can do.
Again, I am deeply sorry for this mistake.
Regards,
Flickr Staff
Cloud storage, anyone?

Filed in Computers >Top Stories. Read more about apology, flickr and yahoo.

User Comments