Ubisoft showed off their upcoming music-based rhythm game, Rocksmith, at this year’s SXSW event. The game that lets users plug in a real guitar into their consoles as opposed to plastic controllers with five different colored buttons. This way, players are doing more than just playing a game – they’re actually learning how to play songs as well.

The game is set to be released for the Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 and Windows PC in fall 2011 for $79.99. Ubisoft has announced some new tracks that will be featured in the game:

  • Best Coast – When I’m With You
  • Blur – Song 2
  • The Black Keys – Next Girl
  • The Boxer Rebellion – Step Out Of The Car
  • Cream – Sunshine Of Your Love
  • The Cribs – We Share The Same Skies
  • The Cure – Boys Don’t Cry
  • Jenny O – Well OK Honey
  • Lynyrd Skynyrd – Sweet Home Alabama
  • Nirvana – Breed
  • Pixies – Where Is My Mind?
  • Radiohead – High and Dry
  • Red Fang – Number Thirteen
  • The Rolling Stones – The Spider and the Fly
  • Silversun Pickups – Panic Switch
  • Soundgarden – Outshined
  • Spoon – Me and The Bean
  • Stone Temple Pilots – Vasoline
  • Taddy Porter – Mean Bitch
  • Titus Andronicus – A More Perfect Union
  • White Denim – Burnished
  • The White Stripes – Icky Thump
  • Yellow Moon Band – Chimney

In addition to the previously announced:

  • The Animals – House of the Rising Sun
  • The Black Keys – I Got Mine
  • David Bowie – Rebel Rebel
  • Interpol – Slow Hands
  • Nirvana – In Bloom
  • The Rolling Stones – (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction

With the music rhythm video game genre somewhat dead at the moment, can Ubisoft bring it back to life with Rocksmith?

Filed in Gaming. Read more about Guitar and Ubisoft.

Related Articles
User Comments