google logoChances are if you have been on the internet long enough, you probably have several accounts with Google. You might have created them for personal use, professional use, or maybe when you were in high school and you created accounts with weird and funny names just because you thought it was clever.

Advertising

Fast forward to today, there is a chance you might have an account or two that you have not visited in years. If you haven’t, you might want to do so now and start backing up the data in those accounts because according to a smattering of reports, Google has apparently begun to delete old and unused accounts without warning.

This has been confirmed by several users on Reddit and on Google’s Gmail support forums where these users claimed to have received an email from Google, claiming that their old accounts violated a TOS agreement which is why they have been shut down. However these users are claiming that given these accounts were not touched, it seemed unlikely that all of sudden they violated Google’s TOS agreement.

Not to mention if Google were indeed going around deleting old and unused accounts for the sake of freeing up names and space, shouldn’t they at least give users a warning first? Google has yet to confirm or respond to these claims but to be on the safe side, maybe you should visit your old accounts and backup the data lest it gets deleted without warning.

Filed in Web. Read more about .

Related Articles on Ubergizmo