facebook-moments-photo-syncYou might have heard last year that Facebook would be killing off Photo Sync. The feature was slated to end on the 10th of January, 2016, which means that the feature is now officially dead. In its place, Facebook has recommended users use its Moments app, which at its core seems to share similar features to Photo Sync.

For those unfamiliar with Photo Sync, the idea is that whenever you took a photo with your mobile device, your photos would be uploaded onto Facebook, hence the “sync” in the name. The photos would be uploaded into a private album, which would be reviewed by you later to choose which you wanted to share, and which you might want to delete.

However it seems that because its Moments app has been gaining momentum and with potential to become a more mainstream app, Facebook has decided to kill off Photo Sync in favor of Moments. Facebook claims that this was more popular back in 2012 when people still posted primary from their computers.

According to a Facebook spokesperson, “People that use photo syncing will have the option to move the photos they’ve previously synced to our new app Moments, where they will be able to view, download, or delete them. If they don’t want to download Moments, they will also be able to download a zip file of their synced photos on their computer, or delete them through their Facebook profiles.”

Filed in Web. Read more about .