Google had promised earlier this year that it would allow users to auto-delete their location and activity data. It’s now rolling out this feature to users. The feature will let them choose how long they want to keep their web and app activity. The options allow for the data to be deleted either after three or 18 months. Users can also decide to keep the data until they decide to delete it manually every time.

Advertising

Google had announced back in May that it would be offering a tool to auto-delete activity and location data to users. It collects a lot of data from users which goes into making its products more useful them. For example, the data is used to make recommendations about places to visit or simply help them pick off where they left off on a previous search.

It had already been possible to enable and disable Location History and Web & App Activity collection as well as to delete either all or part of the data manually. The auto-delete option makes the process of doing this a little bit easier.

Users can decide to have their data deleted after every three or 18 months. These are the only two set options that are being offered. It’s not possible to set your own interval for this. The company is rolling out the location history deletion tool to Android and iOS today.

Filed in Cellphones. Read more about .

Related Articles on Ubergizmo