As many of you have heard by now, Google will soon be ending its free and unlimited storage feature on Google Photos. This means that following these changes, photos you upload will now be counted towards a storage limit that you will need to pay to expand on if you find yourself running low on space.

Advertising

However, to help you manage your storage, Google has since announced some new storage management features for Google Photos that will hopefully help reduce storage wastage. This includes a way for you to bulk delete unnecessary photos, where Google will attempt to sort your photos into categories like blurry photos or screenshots that you forgot to delete after you took them.

According to Google, “Today, we’re starting to roll out a tool in the Photos app to help you easily manage the photos and videos you’ve backed up that count toward your storage quota. The storage management tool surfaces photos or videos you might want to delete — like blurry photos, screenshots and large videos — so you can get the most out of your storage. You can also purchase more storage through Google One where available.”

In addition, Google will also provide users with a personalized estimate on how long their remaining storage will last. Google estimates that for most users, the free 15GB should provide them with about three more years of storage, but this will vary from user to user, but it’s worth noting all the same.

Filed in General. Read more about , and . Source: blog.google

Related Articles on Ubergizmo