Are you ready for the greatest quadrennial sporting event that will hit London in July? Of course, the whole world is ready, and so are you. The 2012 Olympic Games, also known as the Games of the XXX Olympiad, will take place in London, starting from July 27 to August 12. Today, the  International Olympic Committee has announced that it will live stream the London 2012 Olympic Games in 64 territories on the IOC’s YouTube channel. Sports fans across 64 countries in Asia and Africa will now be able to enjoy live coverage of the games on their PCs and mobile devices – all for free. You can visit the International Olympic Committee’s YouTube Channel here.

The IOC said that it will deliver approximately 2,200 hours of high-definition sporting event coverage, including all the medal finals. The IOC added that viewers in these Asian and African territories can expect 10 HD live-feeds running from 9am to 11pm (London Time), and a 24-hour broadcast of the Olympic News Channel. Overall, the official YouTube channel will consist of 11 different simultaneous high-definition broadcasts, all with English language commentary.

“We are delighted to be able to offer live online coverage of London 2012 to sports fans free of charge across these 64 markets. We first provided clips on our channel on YouTube during the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games across the region, and since then have continued to provide footage of past Olympic Games across the world on our YouTube channel. Now we will also be able to offer live coverage during London 2012, complementing the excellent coverage provided by our broadcast partners across the world across all media platforms,” Timo Lumme, Managing Director, IOC Television and Marketing, said. You can check out the full list of the countries below.

The live-streaming on the IOC’s YouTube channel will provide exclusive digital access to the London 2012 Olympic Games in territories where digital broadcast rights have not already been acquired by the IOC’s broadcast partners:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Brunei, Bhutan, Cambodia, East Timor, India, Indonesia, Iran, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.

And in 42 Sub-Saharan African territories on a non-exclusive basis, including:

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Filed in Web. Read more about .

Discover more from Ubergizmo

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading