For those who highly value their privacy, there are several messaging apps that they can choose from. Telegram is one of those apps, and thanks to a recent update it looks like the app just got a bit more robust in terms of protecting your privacy with a new feature that will allow users to set photos and videos to self-destruct.

Advertising

According to Telegram, “If you set a timer, the countdown starts the moment your recipient opens the photo or video you sent. After the time runs out, the photo/video will disappear forever, just like in Secret Chats. If the recipient tries to make a screenshot of your disappearing media, you’ll get a notification immediately.”

Telegram isn’t the first messaging app to offer up such privacy features. Snapchat has long offered self-destructing messages, but we guess if you prefer using Telegram as a means of communication, then this feature will most likely be one that’s welcome. In addition to self-destructing photos and videos, the update will also introduce a bunch of other improvements to the speed and security of the app.

Users can also now set a brief bio about themselves which might be useful in group chats where there might be friends of friends that you are not familiar with. So if you haven’t done so already, you should probably go ahead and download the update.

Filed in Cellphones. Read more about , and .

Related Articles on Ubergizmo