Apple unveiled three new iPhones at its press event last week. It immediately became evident that it’s discontinuing the original iPhone X which came out last year. It was the company’s first smartphone that featured an OLED display and features like wireless charging. Apple has further trimmed its smartphone lineup by discontinuing the iPhone 6S, 6S Plus, and the iPhone SE.


The iPhone X is no longer available for purchase through Apple’s online store. The same goes for the iPhone 6S, 6S Plus, and the iPhone SE. All four models have now been discontinued so if you are in the market to pick one up, third-party retailers are your best bet.

It’s interesting to note that the iPhone 6S models and the iPhone SE were the last handsets from the company to feature a standard 3.5mm headphone jack. Apple made the decision to ditch the jack with the iPhone 7 in 2016 and its entire lineup of iPhones going forward will not have the jack.

While it makes sense that Apple dropped the iPhone 6S models, some are wondering why the iPhone SE got this treatment as well. The device was quite popular with customers who were looking to purchase an affordable iPhone as it started at $350. The cheapest model in Apple’s lineup now is the iPhone 7 which starts at $450.

Filed in Apple >Cellphones. Read more about , , and .

Product NameiPhone 6siPhone SE
Diagonal (inches)4.7"4"
Battery Capacity (mAh)1715 mAh1624 mAh
Processor NameA9A9
RAM Options2GB2GB
Street Price$147 iPhone 6s on Amazon$415 iPhone SE on Amazon
Link to full specsiPhone 6s Full specs and detailsiPhone SE Full specs and details
Related Articles on Ubergizmo