There are two things you can do if you want to stop using Facebook. You can deactivate your account so it remains in cold storage, so to speak, until you decide if you want to use it again. You can also delete it permanently. If you decide to go with the second option, Facebook gives you a grace period to reconsider and log into the account again before the clock runs out and you lose it forever. Facebook has now extended that grace period to 30 days.

The company previously gave users 14 days to change their mind and log into an account that they had requested to be deleted. If they did that they could continue using it again but if they didn’t, the account and all of its data would be deleted.

The company has confirmed to The Verge that the deletion grace period for accounts has been raised from 14 to 30 days. The account won’t be automatically restored if the user signs in again during this period but they will be given the option to cancel their deletion request.

The reason for this decision? “We’ve seen people try to log in to accounts they’ve opted to delete after the 14-day period. The increase gives people more time to make a fully informed choice,” the company said.

Filed in Web. Read more about Facebook.

Related Articles on Ubergizmo