It has long been possible to sync uploads between Google Photos and Google Drive but that will no longer the case. Google has decided to end the integration between these two services in the interest of reducing confusion for its users. The idea here is to simplify the experience across Drive and Photos.
Google says that it has heard feedback from users that the integration between these services is confusing. So starting next month, it’s going to make a change to simplify the experience for Google Drive and Photos.
New photos and videos from Drive won’t automatically show in Photos from July. Likewise, the new photos and videos in Google Photos won’t automatically be added to the Photos folder in Drive. The photos and videos that users delete in Drive will not be removed from Photo and vice versa. This has been done to prevent the accidental deletion of content across these services.
A new feature is being added to photos.google.com for more granular control when copying content from Drive into Photos. The Upload from Drive feature will let users manually choose which photos and videos from Drive they want to import into Photos. Once that’s done, the items are no longer linked between the two services. However, since they’re not linked, the images and video will count against the user’s storage quote in both Drive and Photos.
Google has also confirmed that any and all photos or videos that currently exist in users’ “Google Photos” folder in Drive will remain there. The only change will be that the folder isn’t going to update automatically anymore.