At the moment WhatsApp has a disappearing messages feature which lets messages expire and disappear after a period of time, but it also means that during that time, the messages can still be viewed. However, the company could be looking to change that by introducing a new feature that lets messages only be viewed once.
According to a report from Android Police, the latest beta of WhatsApp introduces the “view once” feature. In the examples they show, you can send a message such as a photo and instead of displaying the thumbnail preview, the message will simply say “Photo” and when you tap on it, a prompt appears that lets you know this message can only be viewed once.
Once the photo is opened and viewed, you will no longer be able to go back to it, although as Android Police notes, there’s really nothing to stop the other user from taking a screenshot or a photo or the image, but we suppose as far as the “evidence” is concerned, it will be removed from your device, so it could still be useful in some situations.