We did bring you word not too long ago that CEO of Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg, dropped hints that there might be a new feature down the road which would allow one to ‘dislike’ your friends’ posts – and as to whether this will end up as a ‘Dislike’ button or some sort of emoji, that remains to be seen. After all, there is this sense of awkwardness that is associated with “liking” of posts that are sad or in need of empathy. Perhaps all of the undue attention given to it has led to cybercriminals as well as those with less than benevolent tendencies to trap folks into a scam by installing a ‘Dislike’ button.
Again, let us reiterate here, there is no such thing as a ‘Dislike’ button as at press time, and if someone claims that it is available based on an ‘Invite Only’ system, then it is time to get out of there – or perhaps to start hanging out with a more legit crowd, so to speak. Clicking on that, you will not only kill the cat, but an invitation countdown timer will show up, asking you to fill in the relevant details before the timer runs out which will signal forfeiting your chance of enjoying the ‘Dislike’ button before others do.
If you fall into the trap, you will continue to be asked to fill out surveys which result in the collection of your personal information and account credentials, and we all know what a slippery path that road can be. You have been warned!