Usually hackers prefer to remain anonymous. After all hacking for the most part is a crime, and what criminal would want to announce themselves to the world, right? Maybe some might reveal themselves after the fact to perhaps revel in the notoriety and “fame”, but in the case of prominent Taiwanese hacker Chang Chi-yuan, he has announced his plans ahead of time.

Advertising

In a report from Bloomberg, Chang has announced on his Facebook page that he plans on hacking Mark Zuckerberg’s Facebook page and will be deleting it as proof of his success. He also announced that he will be live streaming the attack which will be taking place on the 30th of September, 6PM local time in Taiwan, which is 3AM PT and 6AM ET, for those living in the US.

That being said, we’re not sure what Chang plans to accomplish with this hack, plus making it so publicly known will most likely land him in trouble should he actually go through with the hack. However Chang has been mentioned by LINE Corp in the past and placed in the bounty hall of fame, so it is possible that his hack could simply be his way of demonstrating flaws in Facebook’s system.

Either way it remains to be seen if he will be successful, but we imagine that the engineers at Facebook are probably scrambling to try and come up with a defense against it.

Filed in General. Read more about and .

Related Articles on Ubergizmo