Every now and then we come across hoaxes where it tries to trick people into thinking that their account might have been hacked. The latest hoax comes from Facebook, although not directly, where a “friend” would message you claiming that they have received a suspicious friend request from you, and that your account might have been compromised as a result.

According to the report from The Washington Post, the message that some users are receiving reads, “Hi….I actually got another friend request from you which I ignored so you may want to check your account. Hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears…then hit forward and all the people you want to forward too….I had to do the people individually. PLEASE DO NOT ACCEPT A NEW friendship FROM ME AT THIS TIME.”

For those who are seasoned enough, it’s pretty obvious that this is a hoax, and thankfully it seems to be pretty harmless, save for being a bit annoying as it asks users to forward the message to all their friends, so don’t be surprised if you start receiving that message from elderly relatives who might not necessarily be wise to such hoaxes.

Like we said it appears to be harmless as there does not seem to be any malicious links that users have to click, or share sensitive information, but safe to say if you receive such a message the best course of action would be to ignore it and go about your day.

Filed in General. Read more about Facebook, Hack and Security.

Related Articles on Ubergizmo