There are many cross-platform messaging apps that allow you to unsend a message within a set timeframe once you’ve sent it. Facebook Messenger, one of the most widely used messaging apps, will soon receive this feature as well. The company itself has confirmed that the Facebook Messenger unsend feature will be arriving soon.
Facebook revealed that this feature is coming soon through the release notes for version 191.0 of the Facebook Messenger for iOS app. The release notes reveal that users will have 10 minutes to unsend a message once it’s sent.
“Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it,” Facebook explains in the release notes.
This doesn’t come as a complete surprise. It was first reported last month that Facebook was likely developing this feature for Messenger. Facebook itself said back in April this year that it would add this feature to Messenger.
The ten minute limit isn’t as generous as the full hour that WhatsApp users get to delete a message sent in error. WhatsApp, as some of you might be well aware, is owned by Facebook.
Filed in Apps, Facebook, Facebook Messenger and iOS. Source: itunes.apple. Read more about