It goes without saying that Stars Wars: Episode VII (The Force Awakens) has been a hit. It has done roaring business across the globe and with such a robust fan following it makes all the sense in the world to release more episodes. That’s precisely what the studio is going to do and today it has also confirmed three new cast members that will appear for the very first time in the Star Wars universe courtesy Episode VIII.

It has been confirmed today that Benicio del Toro is going to star in Star Wars: Episode VIII alongside Laura Dern and Kelly Marie Tran. It hasn’t been revealed as yet what characters these actors are going to play.

Much of the cast from Episode VII is going to return for the next one. Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie and Andy Serkis are all coming back for the next one. There’s one name missing here but I’m sure you know why if you’ve watched The Force Awakens.

A short announcement trailer for Episode VIII has been released today and it basically shows us the final scene of The Force Awakens though it appears to be shot on different film stock and from different angles. Star Wars: Episode VIII is going to hit the big screen in December next year, filming has already begun.

Filed in General. Read more about , and .

Discover more from Ubergizmo

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading