For those worried about their privacy, not to worry as this is something Microsoft has addressed. According to Microsoft, “As soon as you start recording, everyone in the call is notified that the call is being recorded—so there are no surprises. If you are on a video call, Skype will record everyone’s video as well as any screens shared during the call. After the call, you can save and share the recorded call for the next 30 days.”
Recording is pretty easy and straightforward, where users just need to press the + button and hit Start Recording, and they’ll be good to go. As Microsoft notes, all calls are saved and can be shared over the next 30 days. There will also be a banner at the top of the call screen to let users know that they are being recorded.
Interestingly enough this feature is not available for Skype on Windows 10. Instead the company claims that the feature will be launched on Windows 10 in the coming weeks, and that other platforms will be getting it first.