The good news is that Tinder has introduced a new feature to deal with that awkwardness in the form of phone number blocking. What this does is that Tinder will block people on your contact list from showing up when you swipe through the app and vice versa, meaning that you won’t show up when they are swiping either.
According to Tinder, “Given the chance, 78% of those surveyed would prefer to not see, or be seen by, these connections on an app. With this in mind, Tinder is rolling out a new feature that allows members to block personal contacts in the app, empowering them to confidently Like their way to sparking new connections while avoiding the awkwardness of a familiar face they would rather not see.”
The feature should already be rolling out to users as we speak, and you will be able to access it from the app’s settings, so do check it out if it sounds like something you might be interested in using.
Filed in Tinder. Source: tinderpressroom. Read more about