Viber is one of the many popular cross-platform messaging services out there. The company recently announced a new feature for its service which enables users to set time-limits for how long a photo and video will be visible inside a conversation. It’s going to introduce a secret chats feature later this week which will have an additional layer of privacy as these chats will prevent screenshots and messages will delete themselves automatically.
Viber’s initial feature might have been very similar to how Snapchat does things. You send a photo or video and assign a time limit after which it automatically disappears. If the recipient takes a screenshot, you get a notification.
Viber is now kicking things up a notch with the secret chats feature which will enable entire conversations to delete themselves after a select period of time. It could be a one-on-one conversation or a group chat. It will be up to the participants to decide whether they want the conversation locked behind a PIN or want it to disappear on its own.
This new feature will be released for Viber on iOS and Android later this week. Other security features are included which will prevent participants in a conversation from forwarding messages and even prevent screenshots but this feature will only be available on Android due to iOS limits. iOS users will instead receive a notification when a participant takes a screenshot of the conversation.