The problem with social media is that anyone can be anyone and you don’t always know who’s behind the screen name. This has led to many feeling emboldened that they can say things to other people without necessarily considering the consequences. However, thankfully, it’s just as easy to block these people.
If you’re using Twitter and there are people who you’d rather not talk to anymore, you can easily block them. What this means is that these people will no longer be able to follow you or see your tweets. They also cannot search for your tweets, send you Direct Messages, tag you in photos, or mention you, so basically you’re cutting them off completely.
So, how do you go about blocking someone?
How To Block Someone On Twitter
- Go to the person’s profile that you want to block
- Click the three dots icon
- Select Block
The person you block will not be notified that they have been blocked, but given that they will no longer be able to send you messages, search for your tweets, tag you in photos, and so on, they will eventually realize that they have been blocked, but there’s really nothing they can do about it until you decide to unlock them.
Note that in the menu, there is an option to Mute the user. Unlike blocking, muting will still pretty much let the person message you, mention you, tag you, and interact with you. The main difference is that a muted profile no longer appears on your Home’s timeline. This might be a better alternative if you don’t want to block a user but want to stop seeing their posts on your timeline.
Filed in Twitter.. Read more about